I MUST REMEMBER WHO I’M DEALING WITH …

DSC_0016About two months ago, a guy at work needed a ride home and since he lives in the same general area I do, asked if I could drop him off.

As we were walking to my car, he pointed at my license plate and said, “You know, if you don’t get that license plate replaced, you’ll be fined.”

I looked at my license plate which is bubbly and rusty and I said, “How do you know that?”

“You didn’t get the letter?”

I indeed, did NOT get a letter about a rusty and bubbly license plate.

And in my usually chaotic go-to-work-come-home-and-mow-the-lawn priority list, worrying about my rusty and bubbly license plate was nowhere near my top twenty things to do.

So, I ignored it.

But then several weeks ago I heard a talk show host discussing it and saying that people with bubbly and rusty license plates needed to get a replacement (free) before they get fined.

So I put it on my “to do” list, but wasn’t all that motivated “to do” it.

But one day I decided I needed to check it out.  I hunted around on the web until I found something about it and then followed a link to a form that asked me some questions – clicked and waited.

I have now received an official answer – a letter from Jesse White. Free license replacements are only for those who have bubbly and rusty license plates and therefore were manufactured before March of 2004.  And if I have damaged my license plate in another way, I can just take myself down to the local license place and pay $30.00.

Excuse me?  I did not do something that made my plate rusty and bubbly. Seriously. I don’t even know HOW to do that.

So, now what?  Call and argue? Put the letter in my glove compartment. Wait to get fined?

Actually, writing this blog post just gave me a brilliant idea. If I could figure out what the first sticker was on my plates, I could tell when I got the license.

Which of course, I couldn’t because I can’t take the other stickers off – however, I still have Ken’s plate and we got the Vanity Plates at the same time!  So I ran down and checked it out and we indeed, got the license plates in the spring of ’04.

So there, Mr. Jesse White!!! I was right.  But now this just means more wasted time on rusty and bubbly license plates.

AAAUUUUUGGGGHHHHH!

Leave a Reply

