A ONCE IN A LIFETIME EXPERIENCE

I began my Labor Day vacation day by scrubbing my floors – and listening to the radio in the background.

The topic of discussion?  Oprah shutting down the Magnificent Mile (ie Michigan Ave) for an entire day and a half.  The host was making snide, but funny comments about all the taxis, buses, traffic being rerouted and people were calling in agreeing with him.

Then one lady called and said, “Well, what’s the problem? Traffic can just go one street over.”  I rolled my eyes, but only the dog was there to see me. Anyone who knows the area knows that the “one street over” is already traffic-laden and having four lanes of additional traffic would create a nightmare.

The scrubbing of the floors and the conversation went on.

Another lady called. “Oh, I would give anything to be there. It would be a once-in-a-lifetime-experience.”

Which made me roll my eyes again as I started thinking of the once-in-a-lifetime-experiences I’ve had that meant so much more to me than standing for eight hours plus with no food (and the bathrooms three blocks away).  Experiences like the day I trusted Christ, the day Ken asked me to marry him, the day I got married, the day I found out I was to be a mom, the day my kids/grandkids were born … the day I …

Suddenly, in making my mental list I had a not-very-ingenious thought, but a new way of looking at an old concept – every day of our lives is a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

So, don’t think you have to get to Michigan Avenue today to have that o-i–a-l-e. You can have it right where you are, doing whatever it is you’re are doing.

Face your day, intentionally desiring to do all to the glory of God and have a GREAT day!  Because after all, this day IS a once-in-a-lifetime-experience.

2 thoughts on “A ONCE IN A LIFETIME EXPERIENCE

Leave a Reply

