THE CHURCH

Another thing the munchkins and I did the weekend their parents were in places north exploring the leaves and the lake- was go to the building dedication at the church where I grew up.

The last time they hsc0ad0a38fad had a building dedication was in the 70s, in fact here is my adorable daughter feeling very grown up (she liked that purse) shortly after said dedication. At this time in her life, she was the daughter of the associate pastor and granddaughter of the pastor.

Anyhow, this dedication just happened to be on the Sunday that the kids were with me, so we got up bright and early and headed for my mom’s and then headed even further east to Des Plaines.

A lot of people who used to attend Des Plaines (the attendance has dropped about 1500-1600 over the years) still live in the area and came back for the dedication. So, being the camera person that I am – I actually HAD my camera, but never took it out of my purse. I was too busy saying “Hi” to everyone.

So, I’ll admit I “borrowed” the pictures from Pastor Scott’s Facebook page (well, not Kelli’s picture), but the others. I don’t think he’d mind.

Pastor Scott said that if there were 600 there for the dedication, he’d wear a Bears Jersey since he is a Packers fan.  Actually, 603 showed up, so if WE hadn’t been there, he wouldn’t have had to do that.  (Even the mayor was there.)

All very interesting (Scott’s been pastor about a year or so).

But I think the most poignant moment came when he announced that there had been a time capsule placed in the building at the last dedication.  I whispered to my mom, “Did you know that?”  She hadn’t.

First they showed us a DVD of the men getting the time capsule out of the wall. This was an unexpected surprise – because anyone that knew my dad, knew he liked to write letters.  I knew that time capsule would contain my dad’s “voice” through his writing.

But then Scott showed us that moisture had gotten into the capsule and yes, there were my dad’s papers in there – but they weren’t able to read them because of the moisture.  An audible “ahhhh” filled the auditorium because a lot of the people had attended Des Plaines when dad was there.  Scott said he felt like Geraldo.

(He explained that back in the 70s, people were told to put time capsules in copper – but that was actually not right.  The best thing is Tupperware.  So that’s what they did for this dedication.

I attempted to impress the 5yo with the fact that he had children’s church in the same room where his mo

Anyhow – here are the pictures I stole … I mean borrowed.

8435_162218436665_512361665_3205327_2743717_n

Leave a Reply

