YESTERDAY – A DAY OF MOMENTS

THE SAD MOMENT – I have a friend who is going through something very difficult right now. As I opened my e-mail yesterday morning and received my daily update, I again wished I could “fix” the problem and knew what I had to do was once again pray for her and her husband and give it to the Lord – the only ONE who can give them strength and peace.

THE “I DID IT MOMENT” – Yesterday was my last day in the office until January so my goal for the day was to clear my desk. Unfortunately that meant answering a lot of snail mail, some of which wasn’t all that enjoyable to answer.  Questions such as “Why did you make the books so easy?” and then two paragraphs down in the same letter “Why did you make the books so hard?”  But I waded through it all – and my desk is clear!

THE FUNNY MOMENT – I had just gotten back from lunch (1:15), and a co-worker called and said, “I hope I’m not too late for our meeting.”  I said, “What meeting?” She said, “The one o’clock meeting.” I said, “I don’t have a 1:00 meeting. Nothing’s on my calendar.”  She said, “Yes, we do. It’s on my calendar.”  I said “It’s not on mine.”  Silence.  Then she started laughing. “Oh, no, I invited Linda from my Bible Study instead of you.”   I wonder what Linda from her Bible Study is thinking about being invited to a T&T meeting.

THE SWEET MOMENT – Michael’s daughter made us all chocolate dipped pretzels!  Yum!

THE THIS IS WHAT IT’S ALL ABOUT MOMENT – In Awana last night, I worked with two fifth grade girls who were learning the books of the Bible. I had worked with the one girl before and given her lots of clues how to learn them. I watched as she shared those clues with the other one.  I worked with them for about 15 minutes.  We laughed a lot, but I was also able to teach a lot.  They were right with me, attempting to figure it out. How fun it was to watch them grasp what they were learning. I gave them first letter hints. I talked about the people and the cities (Corinth, Rome, etc.)  I explained words.  One girl was having trouble remembering Chronicles. I explained that Chronicles meant something like a journal.  Suddenly it clicked and she said, “Like the Chronicles of Narnia!”  As I sat there and listened to them  and saw their excitement in getting it – I thought: This is what it’s all about. This is why we do what we do.

THE HAPPY MOMENT – So after a very busy day, I arrived home to find a message on my answering machine. It was from Rob and he asked me to call him back. Of course, right then, I figured out what was happening. Rob and Leah are engaged.  Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

