LIFE IS TOUGH AND GOD UNDERSTANDS

Life is tough and I’m glad God put Ecclesiastes in the Bible because Eccesiastes lets us know in a down-to-earth, everyday life kind of way that God understands.  Most of the the “lessons-learned-the-hard-way” that I listed yesterday have backup verses in Ecclesiastes.

Solomon was the wisest man ever and has riches beyond our imagination, yet he saw the futility of what goes on and came to the conclusion that everything is meaningless: wisdom, pleasure, wealth and even philosophy and morality when not based on God’s Word.

We can’t sit here and say, “Lord, everything you tell us is good and all, but you JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND. I lost everything making bad investments and my job is monotonous and no matter how many concerts and sporting events I go to and no matter how many movies and tv shows I watch, I still want more.” (Hopefully, if you’re a Christian, you aren’t saying that, but many, many people are.)  But God says, “I know. That’s exactly what life is all about.  That’s why I sent a Savior to rescue you.”

Ecclesiastes was one of the most challenging, but enjoyable studies I taught my high school Sunday school class. Like I said last night – lessons we have to learn.

If you haven’t read Ecclesiastes lately, you might be surprised at some of the verses. The book isn’t that long – you can easily read it in one sitting.

Here’s a sampling …

4:3 – And I saw that all labor and all achievement spring from man’s envy of his neighbor. This too is meaningless, a chasing of the wind. (Keeping up with the Jones.)

5:3 – As a dream comes when there are many cares, so the speech of a fool when there are many words. (Lots of verses in Ecclesiastes about talking too much.)

6:7 – All man’s efforts are for his mouth, yet his appetite is never satisfied. (Hmmm …)

7:5 – It is better to heed a wise man’s rebuke than to listen to the song of fools (Good verse for teens – know any foolish songs out there?)

7:10 – Do not say, “Why were the old days better than these?”

Interesting book.

Leave a Reply

