BACK FROM BASS

I’ve just returned from a super quick trip to California to teach workshops at BASS.

Central California is a beautiful area – San Francisco, Yosemite, the almond farms – but other than landing at San Fran. airport, I didn’t see much of the area this time – though I did take some pictures of flowers and palm trees – just to give everyone in the northern part of the country HOPE. Spring is about to spring – in fact, all the fruit trees were blossoming and I even saw an orange tree with dozens of oranges ready to pick (but it was in someone’s yard and I couldn’t figure out how to get into yard to get a picture – or an orange.)

Thursday night I went straight to the hotel and looked over my workshops. Friday we went to Redwood Chapel where the conference is held.  I hung around the booth, talked to people – and then went off to teach.  Both workshops were well attended and I talked to a lot of people about a lot of different church experiences. I talked to a lady whose husband was planting a new church that’s opening in 10 days, a leader from a church where the ministry is going through some very rough times and a lot of people simply looking for new ideas to take back to their home churches. I don’t know how many people were at the conference total, but there were a lot!  John Ortberg was one of the keynote speakers, but I didn’t get a chance to hear him. A couple people from our group went over to the auditorium, but could not find a seat and could not hear him from where they stood.

Of course, one of the great things about going to that area of the country is I KNOW people. I so enjoy being with Tom, Marti and Cindy. And what fun to have one of the guys I met at Hessel Church when I was out there last year – in one of my workshops.

Then yesterday I made the long trek home again.

Leave a Reply

