SEMI-CRAZY STORY

Not the original crazy story – but a crazy story.

This morning I had to go to the doctor and get poked by a needle. The nurse was very friendly and we were chatting and I thought about something I hadn’t thought about for years. I said, “My parents conditioned me to be brave when stuck by needles when they bribed me with a bunch of toys if I didn’t cry when I got my vaccination back when I was in first grade.” End of discussion.

Later I was talking to my mom and while telling her about the doctor’s visit she said, “We taught you to be brave when we bribed you not to cry when you got your vaccination back in first grade.”

That was weird enough – that we both thought of the same story for the first time in many, many, MANY years.

But this gets weirder.

This afternoon I had an unexpected visit from Rob and Leah. As we sat talking I explained that the boxes in my living room were books I was collecting for another trip to Half-Price books. Leah told me her sister really liked history books, so I went over to look at the books to see if I had anything her sister would like —

–And stuck in a copy of Doctor Zhivago was my certificate of vaccination from when I was six-years-old. I didn’t even know I had such a thing.

Just very weird.

Leave a Reply

