HOUSE – PART III

Our family moved to the Midwest and the house faded into the background (but not that far in the background).  Sometimes I dreamed we still lived there.

Then I went to Moody and met and married a guy who lived – well, 90 miles down the road from Altoona. (We often talked about how funny it was that we lived so close to each other as young kids – relatively close anyhow.)

One time when we were visiting Ken’s parents, Ken and I drove up to the house. A teen and his girlfriend were walking down the road and I talked with them. The boy lived there but wasn’t all that excited about it. (I could not understand his lack of enthusiasm.)I can’t remember, but I think they had painted the house red or something.

Then in 1976 we heard (through our Altoona friends) that they were restoring the fort for the Bicentennial. Interesting.  Later we were back in the area for a church anniversary, so made another visit.  The house was now the ugliest mustard color you would ever want to see and the excitement at the fort was two guys in costume – one who gave us multiple rifle-shooting demonstrations. Seeing the land cleared and the fort restored was a surreal experience for me – as was seeing the Coke vending machine in the barn where I used to play.

In the mid 90s, Ken and I, Roger and Sally went back to the church one Sunday and then drove out to the fort. The house was still ugly mustard-color, but had been somewhat restored. (Not that it didn’t need a paint job when we lived in it – but at least it was farmhouse white.)  The house was now part of the fort property, but they hadn’t really done anything with it yet.  The cave- side of the yard was marked off with police tape and until we found someone to talk to, I had the frightening feeling they were planning on tearing the house down. In reality, they had discovered 10,000 Revolutionary War relics in the yard and the police tape was to keep people away.

When we told Dad he sighed and said, “I guess we put our garden on the wrong side.” Here he was inside writing kids’ books about the Revolutionary War and right outside our door we had 10,000 artifacts.

The barn I used to play in was now a large meeting room and a gift shop.

When we said we used to live in the house, they let us go inside and asked us a lot of questions about what it used to looked like. The biggest problem was a window where we used to have a door. They seemed kind of skeptical, but I sent a picture and the door has reappeared.

They also asked me about the cave but I said I never played near the cave because my parents told me not to. “Oh, come on,” the man said, “Don’t tell me you never went down there and explored when your parents weren’t looking.”  Obviously, that man had never met my dad.

The visit was fun. And afterwards, I kept up to date by checking the website. I saw that the house was now a place for school kids to learn about 1800 farmhouse living. Each year they added more hiking trails and more special events to the fort complex. You can even get married there if you’d like!

But the story of the house goes on …

Leave a Reply

