CHRISTIANITY AND FADS

Once again we’re in the midst of a Christian fad – this time in the form of a book.

In the last week I have been asked no less than eight times whether or not I have read this latest “must-read” tome.

To this point I haven’t read it which to many of my inquirers seems to call into account whether my spiritual life is actually at a healthy point.

Right away may I state that my spiritual state does not depend on which best sellers I have consumed. Not that books haven’t inspired me or made me think along paths I have never thought before – but usually these are not books that are out there being touted by everyone I come in contact with.

I had a cool experience last night. After a rather exhausting week (I’m on vacation today), I had a hair appointment. A conversation that I was having with my stylist about the second Japanese earthquake, quickly attracted the attention of a lady whom I hadn’t met before. Within the first two minutes of what turned out to be a 40 minute (very pleasant) conversation, we discovered we were both Christians. Immediately, she asked me if I had read THE BOOK.

This is not a critique of the book itself because, in truth, I haven’t read yet read it. I will also say that it’s often good to read, see or hear what others are talking about so you can discuss whatever it is intelligently – so I do very much appreciate the friend who loaned me a copy of the latest book. This is also not a critique of whether or not there are good things in some of these fads – but rather a critique of the importance we place on them.

Why do we get more excited about “other stuff” than we do the Bible?  And a lot of the things we get so excited about are books, movies, etc. that have some sort of miracle or vision or creed that is over and above what God literally tells us in His Word … like the Bible isn’t enough and we need more. Yet, Paul implores the people of Galatia (Galatians 1:6-12) to be careful of what others are saying if what they are saying is not directly from God’s very words.

And by the way, the Bible is enough. If you never read another book, your spiritual life can be just fine.

So to my friends who are Christians I say this: Please be careful. Make sure anything you believe –  whether you’ve heard, seen it or read it – aligns with Scripture.

And to my many friends who aren’t Christians I say this: Just because something is being promoted  as the greatest and latest Christian trend, does not mean that all Christians are caught up in the frenzy.  The Lord tells us in John 20:31 –  But these are written that you may believe that Jesus is the Messiah, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in His name.

That being said – I think I’ll start a new trend.

Anyone read the book of Philippians lately?

I hear it’s a good how-to book on joy!


Leave a Reply

