BUSY – NESS

I thought about listing the stuff I did this week, but that’s not very exciting, so I’ll sum it up like this.

I spent 12 hours in meetings.

I spent 3 hours in the church library.

I spent 2 hours at PinStripes, 2 hours at Giordanos and 1 hour at Red Lobster.

I spent 2 hours in the yard.

I spent 5 hours at Ryan and Melinda’s wedding.

I spent 1 hour going through files they found in the church basement. (I’m 1/6 of the way through.)

I spent 0 hours writing on this blog (though I’m doing better at keeping up on the corporate blog: http://www.apparentlyblogging.awana.org

Sometimes we hear that being busy is a bad thing and it can be, but I also think being busy can be a good thing.

I think it’s perspective. If being busy takes the time we should be spending with the Lord, our family or friends, then it is a bad thing. But if being busy keeps us focused and keeps us from being introspective and dwelling on all the tough things of life, then it is a good thing. ( I don’t mean we shouldn’t think about the tough things and talk to the Lord about them, but sometimes if we have too much time, we dwell on the negative and that’s not good.)

I don’t think the Lord is concerned so much about how busy we are, but rather how we use that time and what our attitude is about what we’re doing. Busy can be good if we’re accomplishing something good.

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him. (Colossians 3:17)

 

Leave a Reply

