VACATION DAY

So ever since I’ve worked at Awana, my friend Sue has heard me talk about Racine. (Well, actually when she first met me, I still lived in Racine) For the past year or so we’ve been attempting to find a day we could go visit.

We chose yesterday and oh, what a great day for walking (and wading) along the shore.

As an added bonus, I found two up-north munchkins hanging around town with their other cousin – so we took them out to breakfast.

Then we did the lake tour – Wind Point Lighthouse, North Beach (voted one of the 10 best beaches in America) and Reefpoint Marina where we also enjoyed lunch on the balcony of Spinnakers overlooking the water.

And added plus – I unexpectedly ran into a friend. We haven’t been out of contact THAT long – she and her husband came to Ken’s memorial service, but it’s been a few years. Good to catch up with her.

We did the kringle run, but instead of getting kringle from O&H like I usually do, we went to Larsen’s which claim THEY are the first kringle bakery in Racine. Both are good. When I worked at Commitments (across the street), Barbara Bush came to Racine for the single purpose of visitng Larsens and eating kringle. I have a copy of the Racine Journal Times with her picture in it.

And since we were right across the street, we walked over to Commitments. They have a new owner (ten weeks and counting), but said we missed the old owner (my boss) by three minutes. She had been by for a lunch date. (Commitments is a Christian bookstore – I worked there part time for about a year and a half before we moved.)

Besides the lake and kringle, Racine has another claim to fame: Johnson’s Wax. The administration building was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, but I had never been on a tour until we moved and went back for a day with Marv and Marjo.

But I have been in Johnson’s Wax Golden Rondelle many times – a theater that was originally built for the 1964-65 World’s Fair in New York City where they showed the movie To Be Alive to an estimated 5 million people.  After the fair was over, they took it apart and brought it back to the Johnson Wax Headquarters.

Sometimes it seemed as if we personally had seen the movie five million times. Every time someone visited us, we’d take them to the lake — and then to the Golden Rondelle. This visit, we couldn’t get inside – it’s only open on Fridays.

Relaxing day.

4 thoughts on “VACATION DAY

  1. Fairly early, I had just dropped the girls back at their other grandparents. I thought about stopping in, but I was also trying to be conscious that my friend probably didn’t want to spend the day listening to me have conversations with people she didn’t know (which kept me from stopping in to see some other people, too). I did stop in Commitments, but I had calculated that no one working would know me (though I did miss the old owner/boss by three minutes). So, for her, I wanted to make the day more about the scenery – otherwise, I would’ve stopped in 🙂

Leave a Reply

