SOMETHING NEW FOR 2012

One of my favorite verses in the Bible is 2 Corinthians 4:16 – Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.

In a world that has been falling apart since the Adam-in-Eden event, the knowledge that the Lord promises to renew us day-by-day is a comforting and security-producing thought. Paul is writing here of spiritual renewal – each day is in front of us, brand new (because of the righteousness made available to us through Christ)  – to be used to live, honor and serve the Lord.

Yet in the middle of this messed-up world – we see evidence of God all around us – problem is we often get so focused on what’s wrong, we forget to focus on what’s right.

To me – part of the joy of being a Christian is that I personally know the Creator – the One who gave us the gift of a world filled with His presence.

So – just for fun, I’m starting this year with a sense of adventure. Every day I want to do something new. Sometimes that something new might be BIG, but most days I’m expecting that the something new will be small – a new restaurant, recipe, a new route to work, a new thought from God’s Word, a new song I hear, a new person I’ve met …   I don’t know what all the “something news” will be. But the goal is to observe and appreciate the world around me.

And I’m thinking this will be an interesting journey.

So here goes … #1

Actually I had a couple new things today.

I took my NEW Moleskine “January” notebook to church this morning where I heard a pastor I haven’t heard before give an outstanding message based on the Person and Purpose of Christ from Colossians.  “Christianity is not based on moral reform, but about the dead becoming alive.” I am SO thankful for a church that is dedicated to in-depth teaching and today was especially thought-provoking.

After church, we went on an adventure – a restaurant we haven’t been to before – the Egglectric Cafe where I had avacado and mushroom crepes – delicious!

One day down.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

