EIGHTEEN BOOKS

IMG_0453For the past several months, whenever I was given a book to read I’d put it on the bedside table. Right before New Year’s, I piled the books to make a book tower – of 18 books. My goal is to get through the pile and watch it dwindle.

My rules …

1. Some books MUST be read from beginning to end – these are in the A category.

2. B books only need to be read two or three chapters in. If I like it, I will continue. If I don’t like it, I won’t waste my time.

3. B books must then be taken to the Half-Price Bookstore and not be put in another book pile.

Here’s how it’s going so far.

51mN7zP8sCL._AA160_1. Miss Bungle’s Book – this is an A book because it is a Christmas gift from my one and only daughter. The book was written a long time ago – but has stood the test  of time with D.E. Stevensen’s witty story about a lady who needed money and decided to write a novel (if only it were that easy). The problem was, she wrote about her town and even though she changed names, no one had a problem figuring out who was who. But Miss Bungle had written under the name John Smith, so the townspeople spent a lot of time attempting to figure out who the author really was. Meanwhile, the fictional events Miss Bungle had written about everyone’s lives began to actually happen. A good, sit-in-front-of-the-fire and relax read.

416S5PBHFBL._SL500_AA300_2. Little Women. Not that I haven’t read it before – I have – two or three times. But before Christmas, two friends and I decided we would all read it again. We had a reason which I won’t go in to here – but none of us actually got too far into the book. However, I decided to continue to reread it as penitence for picking a lilac leaf off of the bush in front of the Alcott’s Orchard House back in Concord, Massachusetts – since the house was closed.

Actually the story of Louisa May Alcott is probably not what you think (unless you know it). Her father ran a free-thinking school (think Hawthorne and Thoreau) and Louisa wrote some “free-thinking” literature which she wished to be known for. Unfortunately (in her mind) her children’s books were a lot more popular.  Alas …

The interesting aspect of my read, however, is that the book I’m actually reading is not the one pictured here but one that belonged to my mom when she was a young teen.

So what happens when I get all 18 books done? (By the way, I will not be stopping my continual flow of books from both the church and city library to read these.)

I will find another 18 books and start over. Truly. I can do that about 179 times in this house and still not run out of books.

Leave a Reply

