POINTS NORTH

So, I saw that a friend was visiting the Home Office with her husband except that her husband was in meetings all day while she was feeling sort of stuffed up with a cold. And we were chatting and catching up on everyone’s life and somehow the subject of Wisconsin came up. She said, “I was born in Wisconsin and we often came back to visit, but it’s been awhile since I was there.”

“Someday we’ll have to take a road trip,” I said, kiddingly.

And she said, “That sounds like so much fun.”

Quickly, I thought through my schedule. I had been fairly focused this week and had gotten a lot done and I could double up on some other things and …

“Like tomorrow?” I asked. “I could get you to Wisconsin tomorrow.”

And that was that. Because of course, I know how to get to Wisconsin and I know where to go when I get there.

Off we went. Because it was rush hour, we made our way to the highway through the Northern Illinois horse farms – 25 mile speed limit, but beautiful, beautiful country … and horses.

When we reached Racine, I headed right to the lighthouse. We didn’t have a lot of time and I wanted to make the best of it. When I left the house in the morning, I felt drops of rain – but now the sky was brilliant blue and the sun was glistening on the water.

Taking pictures of the lighthouse is always fun, but I’m guessing I have about 100 of them already with an assortment of family and friends standing in front of it, (We used to live close enough to bike to it.) but I can never resist taking more.

But oh, what a beautiful day and what fun to take pictures.

Leave a Reply

