New Food – Ugli Fruit

Once again I picked up a fruit – an ugli fruit. The ugly fruit is a Jamaican tropical fruit in the citrus family and it is kind of ugli, (Spell check is determined that I am spelling ugli incorrectly which I am if I were attempting to spell ugly, but not wrong since I’m spelling ugli.) Imagine a grapefruit, an orange and a tangerine all mixed together and you have this unappealing fruit.DSC_0031

The fruit was first found growing wild in Jamaica and most ugli fruit are still grown there. At first the skin is light green, but as it ripens, the skin turns orange.

I cut it open and took a bite – very good.

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

But I didn’t stop there. I found a recipe for an ugli smoothie.  (Doesn’t sound too appetizing, does it?) The smoothie included the ugli fruit, a banana, pineapple juice and milk.

And this is what happened – the smoothie was good … the only thing I didn’t like about it was the strong banana taste which has nothing to do with the ugli fruit. (I’m ok with bananas, but they aren’t my favorite.) So I’ll give the fruit a 10 and the smoothie a 9 and next time simply make an ugli julius. (I can see a new franchise in the making, taking the place of orange julius – can you imagine Ugli Julius shops?)

DSC_0041

2 thoughts on “New Food – Ugli Fruit

  1. Sounds delicious!

    We arrived at our cottage yesterday to lots of snow and a frozen lake in spite of warm temperatures the last few days. No kayaking for us or fishing for my grandson Kristian this weekend!

    It’s still beautiful and wonderful being here.

    On Apr 11, 2017 7:41 PM, “Observations From the 2nd Floor” wrote:

    > thepracticalpastorswife posted: “Once again I picked up a fruit – an ugli > fruit. The ugly fruit is a Jamaican tropical fruit in the citrus family and > it is kind of ugli, (Spell check is determined that I am spelling ugli > incorrectly which I am if I were attempting to spell ugly, but not ” >

Leave a Reply

