New Food – Quail Eggs

I will admit that I’m not an overly adventurous eater. I do ok trying fruit and vegetables, but in my quest for new foods, I have passed by some strange meat. Though I’ve eaten some weird meat at restaurants, fixing it myself???? Hmm …

The other day I was meandering through a grocery store when I saw a small package of quail eggs. I picked it up. I put it down. I looked quail eggs up on my phone. I picked them up. I put them down. I just didn’t know if I could do it. (Truly, though, how many times in my life can I say I’ve been wishy washy about quail eggs?)

Once home, I looked quail eggs up at the internet which assured me that they taste just like chicken eggs (and you can always trust the internet).

So I went back and got some. In my internet search, I also saw some pictures of quail eggs dyed for Easter – and they looked singularly unique.  But alas … not having Easter egg dye at my house … I moved along with the recipe I was going for.

DSC_0047

The recipe is simple – spread crescent roll dough in the cups of a mini-muffin/tart pan.

DSC_0054

Then break a quail egg into each one and sprinkle with basil.

DSC_0057

Bake and TaDa! Little quail egg tarts. (The lilacs have nothing to do with quail eggs, I just like lilacs.) Most of the recipes and descriptions of the eggs suggested using them for company or when you’re cooking a fancy meal – even miniature devil eggs.

Because they really do taste just like chicken eggs, but you can still impress your guests with where you found the tiny eggs.

DSC_0058

Leave a Reply

