New Food – Finlandia Butter

DSC_0048Looking for my next new food – I found a package of Finlandia Butter at the local Jewel. And yes, I looked on the package and it is actually from Finland with a picture of some cute Finnish cows on the front.

The package said the butter was made from pure, fresh milk from family-owned farms and has no artificial anything added. So I bought a package, but I wasn’t really expecting much.

Once home, I looked it up on the internet and read posts from a lot of food bloggers who said just what I was thinking, This is butter,  I am sure I won’t be able to tell the difference! But then they would continue, saying that the butter was different!  I also read that it’s used by French chefs to make their incredibly delicious bake goods. Being that my only moments in France were spent in an enclosed room at the airport, I cannot vouch for their bake goods other than by reputation, but that sounded like a good recommendation.

 And then they went on to share recipes using the butter.

DSC_0058All good. First I made myself a bagel and spread the butter onto the bagel … and NO, this did NOT taste like the butter I usually buy.  Finlandia Butter is creamy smooth and it has a pleasant, mild taste that is different from regular butter. The best way I can think to describe it is a combination between cream cheese and butter.

Next I found a recipe for blueberry muffins which called for four tablespoons of Finlandia Butter. In spite of the fact that the muffin directions forgot the step where you actually add any berries, I was smart enough to figure out the importance of including blueberries in blueberry muffins. DSC_0055DSC_0057DSC_0060

Once I figure out the lack-of-berries-discrepancy … the muffins, too, were scrumptiously good and I could taste the difference made by the butter.

I wasn’t expecting much difference eating butter that came from a Finnish cow who grew up on a family-friendly farm, but I could!  This is one new food that just might become a regular on my grocery list.

I’d give it a 10 out of 10.

 

2 thoughts on “New Food – Finlandia Butter

  1. I will try that butter soon.

    On May 19, 2017 8:51 AM, “Observations From the 2nd Floor” wrote:

    > thepracticalpastorswife posted: “Looking for my next new food – I found a > package of Finlandia Butter at the local Jewel. And yes, I looked on the > package and it is actually from Finland with a picture of some cute Finnish > cows on the front. The package said the butter was made from pur” >

Leave a Reply

