New Food – Blood Orange Olive Oil

DSC_0069

The Ingredients

DSC_0074

The Dressing

DSC_0075

The Cooking Pecans

DSC_0076

The Spinach

DSC_0081

The Salad

Wandering through the Farmer’s Market on a search for rhubarb, I stopped to chat a lady selling various flavors of olive oil. Since I often sauté vegetables and serve them on rice, I have tried different flavors before – most often lemon.

When I asked her what kind was her favorite – she told me the blood orange. I took a taste and liked it – very orangey, very smooth (Is olive oil smooth?), very tasty.

She then gave me a recipe for pineapple, spinach, pecan, blood orange olive oil salad.

So I made some. The dressing is the olive oil, garlic, vinegar, salt, pepper, dry mustard.

The pecans are caramelized in brown sugar and butter and the pineapple and spinach are chopped into pieces … and it’s all mixed together.

Result? Extremely good salad.

9 out of 10.

 

Leave a Reply

